Dead Ice (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #24) by Laurell K. Hamilton

Book Description:

Published: June 9, 2015

Anita Blake has the highest kill count of any vampire executioner in the country. She’s a U.S. Marshal who can raise zombies with the best of them. But ever since she and master vampire Jean-Claude went public with their engagement, all she is to anyone and everyone is Jean-Claude’s fiancée.

It’s wreaking havoc with her reputation as a hard ass—to some extent. Luckily, in professional circles, she’s still the go-to expert for zombie issues. And right now, the FBI is having one hell of a zombie issue.

Someone is producing zombie porn. Anita has seen her share of freaky undead fetishes, so this shouldn’t bother her. But the women being victimized aren’t just mindless, rotting corpses. Their souls are trapped behind their eyes, signaling voodoo of the blackest kind.

It’s the sort of case that can leave a mark on a person. And Anita’s own soul may not survive unscathed . . .

Review –

From what I  can tell, some readers are fed up with the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series because the plots are weak and it’s all about the sex. Well, of course it is, that is what makes  a good easy-reading, no thinking necessary story involving the famous US Marshal, vampire hunter and necromancer. 

As with most of the books, this one had multiple story lines going but only one main plot and YES there was sex but not much and it was well within the context of the story. 

I really like the character of tiny but feisty Anita Blake and now that she’s engaged to Jean-Claude, the centuries old vampire and  the King of the City of St. Louis,  the next book should get really interesting .

I can’t wait!

2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C

21066968

Advertisements

Jason (Anita Blake,Vampire Hunter #23) by Laurell K. Hamilton

Book Description

December 2, 2014
“Enjoying pain with your pleasure is something you either get, or you don’t. If you get it, then you don’t really need it explained, because you know how good it feels, and if you don’t get it then no amount of talking is going to convince you it makes sense.”

But sometimes you have to explain the unexplainable, especially if the love of your life needs to understand, or she’ll leave you. Jason Schuyler is one of Anita Blake’s best friends and favorite werewolves, with benefits. J.J. is his lady love, an old flame from childhood who dances at one of the top ballet companies in New York. She’s accomplished, beautiful, and she’s crazy about him, too. Neither of them wants to be monogamous, so what could go wrong?

J.J. is enthusiastically bisexual, with an emphasis on the female side of things. She plans to keep sleeping with women, because Jason can’t meet that need, just like she can’t meet Jason’s need for rough sex and bondage. J.J. doesn’t understand why Jason isn’t content to go elsewhere for a need she can’t fulfil, so Jason asks Anita to help him explain.

Anita is having her own relationship growing pains with her only female lover ever, Jade. Jason suggests that J.J. might be able to help Anita with her girl problem, while she helps him with his kinky explanations. With some encouragement from a few other lovers in Anita’s life she reluctantly agrees, and J. J. makes plans to fly into town for an experience that none of them will ever forget.

Review –
This book was very disappointing if you read for depth in plots and engaging characters, but if you read for sexual pleasure, this is the book for you.  There is minimal plot and the characters are interested in only one thing, SEX.  It is very explicit and graphic.
I hope the next in the series has Anita hunting vampires, which is her true job.
2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C
23129684

Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #21) by Laurell K Hamilton

Book Description:

Published: June 5, 2012

When a fifteen-year-old girl is abducted by vampires, it’s up to U.S. Marshal Anita Blake to find her. And when she does, she’s faced with something she’s never seen before: a terrifyingly ordinary group of people—kids, grandparents, soccer moms—all recently turned and willing to die to avoid serving a master. And where there’s one martyr, there will be more…

But even vampires have monsters that they’re afraid of. And Anita is one of them…

Review –

This was a second reading for me and this time I choose the audio version and enjoyed more. I find that I always enjoy a book more the second time around.  This is a great series with great characters and impossible happenings but those impossibilities are what make the story so wonderful.  If you’ve never read an Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter you need to add one to your “to be read” list.

383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

12383252

Affliction (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #22) by Laurell K Hamilton

15985372

Book Description

Release date: July 2, 2013 | Series: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter (Book 22)
Some zombies are raised. Others must be put down. Just ask Anita Blake. Before now, she would have considered them merely off-putting, never dangerous. Before now, she had never heard of any of them causing human beings to perish in agony. But that’s all changed. Micah’s estranged father lies dying, rotting away inside from some strange ailment that has his doctors whispering about “zombie disease.” Anita makes her living off of zombies—but these aren’t the kind she knows so well. These creatures hunt in daylight, and are as fast and strong as vampires. If they bite you, you become just like them. And round and round it goes… Where will it stop?
Even Anita Blake doesn’t know.
Review –
I liked this installment of the Anita Blake,Vampire Hunter series much much better than I did the last one. Unlike in it, Anita had a big part to play in the plot and there was not as much sex for sex sake. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy sex scenes in books but not when they happen on every other page.
I wil continue to be a fan of Laurell K. Hamilton and await the next Anita Blake book.

Ever After(The Hollows #11) by Kim Harrison

13241659

Book Description

Release date: January 22, 2013 | Series: Hollows (Book 11)

Witch-turned-daywalking-demon Rachel Morgan needs to save the demonic realm of the Ever After in the eleventh entry in the New York Times bestselling Hollows series from supernatural adventure master Kim Harrison.

Forced by circumstance, Rachel teams up with elven tycoon Trent Kalamack—a partnership fraught with dangers of the heart as well as betrayal of the soul—to return to the ever-after and rescue those she loves. One world teeters on the brink of interspecies war, the other on the brink of its very demise—and it’s up to Rachel to keep them both from being destroyed.

When Rachel sets off a chain of events that could lead to the end of the world—demonic and human—she must use her gifts to save those closest to her while preventing an apocalypse.

Satisfying and sexy, a visit to the Hollows will take readers on a wild journey that will capture their imagination. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Stephenie Meyer won’t be able to resist Kim Harrison’s alternative universe—urban fantasy Cincinnati complete with vampires, witches, and other enchanting creatures—where spine-tingling adventures and fast-paced action are the norm.

 

Review –
This book was fantastic, fast paced,full of adventure,interaction between favorite characters and a tense hint a romance.  I could not put it down.
That being said, I wish just once Rachel could find happiness in the arms of a man or paranormal man, namely Trent Kalamack.  I know he has feelings for her too but he just will not commit.  I held my breath for a few pages hoping that it would work out in this book, but alas, it did not.  There were kisses,good kisses but he walks away AS A FRIEND.  Can you believe it?   Please, please, I beg of you Ms. Harrison, give us a great romantic story line with Rachel and Trent.
Pretty please with sugar on top.

Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #21) by Laurell K. Hamilton

Book Description

Publication Date: June 5, 2012 | Series: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter (Book 21)
When a fifteen-year-old girl is abducted by vampires, it’s up to U.S. Marshal Anita Blake to find her. And when she does, she’s faced with something she’s never seen before: a terrifyingly ordinary group of people—kids, grandparents, soccer moms—all recently turned and willing to die to avoid serving a master. And where there’s one martyr, there will be more…
But even vampires have monsters that they’re afraid of. And Anita is one of them…
Review-
This book was a real let down and didn’t live up to others in the series for me. Now, I’m still a fan of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter but she really had no real purpose in this plot.  The case she was working on involved a few vamps and once they were disposed of that was it and she went  “home” with her lovers and others and it was like the sky opened up and a light flashed and said “let there be sex”  The End. 
I’m thinking LKH may be bringing Anita to the end of her run.  Only time will tell.

The Outlaw Demon Wails by Kim Harrison

From Publishers Weekly

Confusion reigns for characters and readers in the complicated seventh urban fantasy outing (after 2008’s The Outlaw Demon Wails) for witch detective Rachel Morgan. Rachel’s reputation is in tatters—to save humanity, she used powers that are considered evil—and she’s still devastated by the mysterious death of her boyfriend six months earlier. Her attempts to solve his murder bleed into a case involving an emotion-sucking banshee, and soon Rachel has to bring in her PI partners—Ivy, a bisexual vampire, and Jenks, a pixie in existential crisis—along with empathic psychiatrist Ford and the banshee victim’s father, Federal Inderland Bureau captain Edden. Harrison’s unique vampire mythology unduly complicates world-building, and newcomers will be desperate for a glossary, but the nearly nonstop action nicely plays off the poignancy of Rachel’s difficult life. (Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. –This text refers to the Hardcover edition.
 
Review-
If you’vd read any of my reviews  for Kim Harrison’s other books in the Hollows series
then you know that it’s one of my favorites series and that being said Ms. Harrison did not let me down in this installment.  I purchased  an audio version and found it fulfilling  and relaxing to just sit back while the sound of the narrator’s  voice was like the words floating off the written page and into my ears. I loved it.  I am now reading the next book and will  talk more about it later.
If you are a fan of the vampire/paranormal world genre you said give Kim Harrison’s book s a try-you won’t be disappointed.