The House of the Scorpion (Matteo Alcran #1) by Nancy Farmer

Product Description:

Published: 2002

Matteo Alacrán was not born; he was harvested.
His DNA came from El Patrón, lord of a country called Opium–a strip of poppy fields lying between the United States and what was once called Mexico. Matt’s first cell split and divided inside a petri dish. Then he was placed in the womb of a cow, where he continued the miraculous journey from embryo to fetus to baby. He is a boy now, but most consider him a monster–except for El Patrón. El Patrón loves Matt as he loves himself, because Matt is himself.

As Matt struggles to understand his existence, he is threatened by a sinister cast of characters, including El Patrón’s power-hungry family, and he is surrounded by a dangerous army of bodyguards. Escape is the only chance Matt has to survive. But escape from the Alacrán Estate is no guarantee of freedom, because Matt is marked by his difference in ways he doesn’t even suspect.

Review –

I gave this book five stars ***** because the plot was unlike any I have read before and once I started reading it I COULD NOT put it down.  The characters are very well-developed and the description used throughout the story is very vivid. For me it was a very fast read and I would highly recommend it.

Series: National Book Award Winner for Young People’s Literature, Newbery Honor Book, Printz Honor Book




The Fox Inheritance( Jenna Fox Chronicles) by Mary E. Pearson


Book Description

Release Date: August 30, 2011 | Series: Jenna Fox Chronicles

Once there were three. Three friends who loved each other—Jenna, Locke, and Kara. And after a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, their three minds were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld. Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first. When Jenna disappeared, Locke and Kara had to go on without her. Decades passed, and then centuries.

Two-hundred-and-sixty years later, they have been released at last. Given new, perfect bodies, Locke and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.

Everyone except Jenna Fox


Although it has been a while since I read the Adoration of Jenna Fox, which is the first in this series, I was able to easily pick up where the first book left off, so it could be read as a stand alone.

The first book took place in the present day and involves  the lives of three normal teenagers, up until a horrible accident and then everything as they knew it changed forever.  The second book takes place 260 years in the future and again the three “teenagers” come together again for some good times and for one of them, some very horrible times.

 I chose the audio version of this book and the narrator, Matthew Brown , did an excellent job. For me a narrator can make or break a story, in fact, in the past I have returned two audiobooks because the narrator was so bad. This story is fast-paced and is a combination of  teen-angst,mystery and science fiction.  I can’t wait to read or listen to the last book in the series, Fox Forever, which comes out in March of this year.