One Second After (After #1) by William R. Forstchen

Book Description:

Published: March 17, 2009

Format: Audio/OverDrive

New York Times best-selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real … a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages … A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future … and our end.

Review –

This book is too scary NOT to read. The whole time I was listening I expected the lights to go out, my computer to shut down and everything to go completely quiet. 

Our country, or any country, for that matter, is not prepared for an EMP strike. We are all too complacent to think it can happen at all, much less to us.

Reading/listening to this book made it very real and it scared me to death.

Everyone should read this book!

Five stars.

Never Never (Never,Never #1)by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Book Description:

Published: January 7, 2015

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.

 

Review –

Five-star-feedback-on-oDesk

 

OMG!  I can’t believe that I haven’t read this book until now.  The blurb doesn’t do it justice. Really it is  just a teaser.  The book  is FREAKING AMAZING!

Charlie and Silas “wake up”(although that’s not an accurate statement) and realize they have no memories, NONE, of anything: who they are, where they are, who their friends or enemies are, what the dynamics of their family relationships are and most importantly, what their relationship is to one another.

They don’t let anyone know about their conditions and slowly piece a few things together.  They’re in love, or used to be, Their families hates each other and don’t want them together, they both have tattoos on their backs, Charlie’s father is in prison for embezzlement and more in regards to a business he used to co-own and run with Silas’s father and Charlie has been cheating on Silas with Brian, a boy from school and Silas has been cheating on Charlie’s with the school’s guidance counselor, Ms. Ashley.

After after a disastrous tarot reading in the French Quarter, Charlie pretends to get in a cab to get away from Silas and disappeares.Silas finds with out the next morning when she doesn’t show up for school and goes to her house and while arguing with her mother (who is a drunk) sees a letter addressed to her and takes it.   Reading it he finds out that THEY have written themselves a letter stating that “the waking up with no memories” has happened twice before that week and seems to happen every 48 hours. They put everything in the letter they have discovered about themselves and others so when it happens again they won’t haven’t to start from scratch.  It’s three minutes until the 48 hours is up and Silas is frantically writing things down that he and Charlie have found out in the last two days. The last thing he writes it that Charlie has disappeared and he has to find her.  The book ends.

TALK ABOUT A CLIFF HANGER.

Absolutely loved it.

C758484C9C9106E2B09FB2547B1149C8

24378015

Pestilence (Dr. Samantha Bower Medical Thriller #2) by Victor Methos

Book Description

August 11, 2013
A RACE AGAINST THE CLOCK…

The most lethal virus in history has begun its spread to the mainland United States. Fast-spreading and with the ability to take over the host’s immune system, the pathogen seems unstoppable.

A FIGHT FOR SURVIVAL…

Dr. Samantha Bower of the Centers for Disease Control has encountered the virus before and it nearly cost her her life. Now, with the disease spreading among the civilian population at an incredible pace, the military has stepped in and declared martial law.

Dr. Bower’s own sister is caught in the middle when she is apprehended in the quarantine zone. Samantha must fight not only the worst nature has to offer, but her own government as well if she wishes to save her family.

A LOOMING THREAT…

A mysterious man is killing those that could stop the virus. Leaving a trail of bodies in his wake, his motivations are unclear. And he has chosen a new target: Samantha Bower.

Review –
In the second of the Plague Trilogy or The Dr. Samantha Bower Medical Thriller Series the spread of the deadly virus is spreading at an uncanny speed and nothing medically can stop it. On top of that, there are assassins who roam the world killing off anyone who might find a cure.  Why?   Read the book.
Very Good.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70
18350815

The Neighbor by Dean Koontz

Book Description

 June 3, 2014
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLEREvery city has its wonders and mysteries. For the Pomerantz family, the most disturbing mystery at the moment is the identity and the intentions of their new neighbor, in this eBook original short story—a prequel to The City, the gripping and moving new novel by Dean Koontz.

The year is 1967. Malcolm Pomerantz is twelve, geeky and socially awkward, while his seriously bright sister, Amalia, is spirited and beautiful. Each is the other’s best friend, united by a boundless interest in the world beyond their dysfunctional parents’ unhappy home. But even the troubled Pomerantz household will seem to be a haven compared to the house next door, after an enigmatic and very secretive new neighbor takes up residence in the darkest hours of the night.

Review –
This was a good scary ghost story which will tie into The City  that came out earlier this month. It’s very short and a fast read, so if you’re a fan of Dean Koontz and plan to read The City, be sure to read The Neighbor  first so you’ll have a bit of background information.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70
22259002

The Flu (A Novel of Outbreak) by Jacqueline Druga

Adobe Photoshop PDF

Book Description

Publication Date:November 26, 2013
Throughout history there have been several thousand different strains of influenza. Each year hundreds are active. Chances are, this year, you will catch one of those strains. You will cough, sneeze, and your body will ache. Without a second thought, you’ll take a double dose of green liquid, go to bed, and swear you’ll feel better in the morning.
Not this time.
In 1918 forty million people succumbed to a particular strain of swine flu. It appeared out of nowhere, and just as quickly as it surfaced, the Spanish Flu vanished. Gone for good. Or so we thought. Though mankind has anticipated its resurfacing for some time, mankind is ill prepared. Mutated and with a vengeance, the Spanish Flu returns.
In a world blackened with plague, a glimmer of light exists in the small town of Lodi, Ohio. They shine as a sanctuary because they are ‘flu-free.’ In the wake of the reality that they are spared, the spirit and strength of Lodi is tested. It becomes a fight against what is morally right or wrong in an ncreasingly difficult battle to stay healthy and alive until the flu has run its course.
Review –
Very scary premise because this could completely happen and it would probably be worse that this author tells us. There are graphic descriptions of the bodies at the end of the flu and they are not for the squeamish. There is also a few pages of tear jerker prose and even though it makes a good story the end could have worked out the same without the demise of a main character.
All in all, I enjoyed it very much and read it in one sitting.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

The Complete Works of Edgar Allen Poe by Edgar Allen Poe

Edgar Allen Poe or (Edgar Allan Poe) was an American writer, poet, editor and literary critic, considered part of the American Romantic Movement. Best known for his tales of mystery and the macabre.

 


Review –

Anytime is perfect for Poe.  I read this during the month of October getting in the mood for Halloween and I think I’ll make it a yearly ritual.  No one does it better than Poe.