Buried Deep by Margot Hunt

Book Description:

Published: December 5, 2019

Format: Audio/Audible

In this pulse-pounding short thriller, Maggie Cabot refuses to sit by idly as police re-open an investigation into the mysterious death of a woman her husband used to know.

After two decades in a near-perfect marriage, Maggie and James Cabot are enjoying their first year as empty-nesters in their charming Florida suburb, until two detectives arrive at their front door and change their lives forever.

The remains of a young woman have been found at a campsite in the Florida Keys. Hannah Nilsson, only 21 at the time of her disappearance, was last seen on a camping trip with a group of friends—including James, who dated Hannah long before he and Maggie ever met. Shocked and heartbroken, everyone on the trip said they assumed Hannah had wandered off toward shore, intoxicated from a long night of partying, and drowned. But the discovery of her body 25 years later, half a mile away from the campsite and buried six feet deep, makes it clear that her death was not accidental.

As the police dig back into the case, Maggie begins her own investigation, desperate to piece together the truth and clear her husband’s name once and for all.

Review –

Another Audible Original that I picked up for free in December.(another great reason to subscribe to Audible)

I’ve never read anything by Margot Hunt before, but this was a really well put together story. It was a great who-dun-it that keeps you guessing, but at the same time has its predictable moments.  I know the synopsis describes it as for fans of Big Little Lies and The Last Mrs. Parrish, but for some reason I couldn’t shake the similarity to the movie A Simple Favor.  It had similar pacing and a similar shock and awe value at the end.

Speaking of the end.  This book both ended how and different than I expected.  I won’t go into full details as to not spoil it, but it had a “hmmm, that makes sense” type of story arc ending. But it also had a “wait, is that really how this is ending?” vibe to it.  I can’t really explain it more without spoiling, but I think if you read it you’ll understand.

Overall, a REALLY  enjoyable  less than three hour listen that had wonderful narration by Therese Plummer. If you’re looking for a short listen with good suspense and a great ending, give this a try.

Five stars.