Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck (Southern Eclectic #0.5) by Molly Harper

Book  Description:

Published: October 16, 2017

Format: Audio/Audible

Carl and Marianne were high school sweethearts, loving the way only teenagers can—with no thought to logic or pride, just a bone-headed, optimistic frenzy of unicorns and hormones. That was all they needed. Or so Carl thought.

Scared of being stuck in Lake Sackett, Georgia, like so many of her friends—without a real shot at a future or achieving her own dreams—Marianne panicked and bolted to college after stomping Carl’s heart into the high grass. But when she returns to Lake Sackett for the summer with her family after years away, she and Carl are drawn together like moths to a flame. As they rekindle their old romance and remember what it was like to be in love, they have to wonder: is this, finally, their real chance at happiness?

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert, this warmhearted and witty love story introduces Molly Harper’s new Southern Eclectic series set in the small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia.

Review –

I met these characters in Sweet Tea and Sympathy and this novella happens about ten years prior to that.

it is a short (a little over three hours on audio) and sweet Contemporary Romance about a woman returning home for the first time in a few years to spend the Summer with her family before heading off to Law School. t’s kind of perfect. It has Molly Harper’s trademark snark, it’s entertaining and it’s G Rated so you could give this book to your grandma without worrying too much.

Loved it and can’t wait to read more in this series.

Busted (Will Trent #6.5) by Karin Slaughter

Book Description:

Published: May 28, 2013

Detective Will Trent is standing in a Georgia convenience store, waiting on an obstinate Icee frozen drink machine. To the surveillance cameras and bored staff of the Lil’ Dixie Gas-n-Go, however, Will appears to be someone very different—the menacing ex-con Bill Black. Going undercover as Bill, the Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent is about to infiltrate the most corrupt town in the most corrupt county in the new American South. But first: his Icee.

Everything changes in one horrific instant, as all hell breaks loose at the Lil’ Dixie. A cop is shot. A bag of cash goes flying across the floor. A young woman disappears while a killer takes off in a battered pick-up truck. Within seconds, Will is in pursuit.

Review –

This is a short novella which leads up to the novel Unseen, which I read  in September of 2013 and don’t know how I missed this one. 

Poor Will Trent, in the wrong place at the wrong time, and all because of an Coke flavored Icee!

If you are familiar with the Keystone Cops, that’s what part of this story felt like. There was chaos, chasing a hold up man in a beat up  pick-up down the Interstate, finding out that an 84-year-old grandmotherly woman lied about everything ad finally getting the bad guys put where they belong.  That’s really all I can say without giving away too much.

If you’ve never read or listened to anything by author, Karin Slaughter, you should really give this a try.  It is short and you’ll get a sample of her writing style. It will not disappoint.

C758484C9C9106E2B09FB2547B1149C8

17857799

Death by Chocolate by G.A. McKevett

Synopsis

G. A. McKevett encourages readers to give in to temptation with this eighth serving of the Savannah Reid mystery series. A full-figured private eye, Savannah loves sweets and practically idolizes TV personality Lady Eleanor, the self-proclaimed “Queen of Chocolate.” Lady Eleanor’s cooking show and upscale confection shops are the height of elegance and self-indulgence — two of Savannah’s favorite things. At first, when she hears that Lady Eleanor has been receiving threatening letters, she’s worried that a job protecting her idol will be too much of a good thing. The work will give her struggling Moonlight Magnolia Detective Agency a much-needed infusion of cash. As a bonus, Savannah hopes that sticking close to Lady Eleanor will also allow her to indulge her appetite for elegant chocolate treats and satisfy her curiosity about how these delightful delicacies are made. She can’t imagine why anyone would want to harm Lady Eleanor, until she meets the real woman behind the carefully tailored image: an aging, overweight harridan who expects everyone to cater to her ever-more-eccentric whims. Sweet revenge seems the most likely motive when a particularly spectacular chocolate dessert turns deadly in Lady Eleanor’s studio kitchen. It’s up to Savannah to figure out which of her not-so-sweet employer’s many enemies has decided the famous Death by Chocolate dessert should live up to its name. Sue Stone

 

Review-

I don’t know what took me so long to discover this series because I love humorous crime-fiction like those  books by Joanne Fluke and Diane Mott Davidson, just to name of couple of my favorites.  I’m glad that I stumbled upon this author at the public library but sad that they only had two,(yes, I said two) of her books. I have purchased one from Ebay and it should he here any day.

I think this particular series appeals to me because the main character, Savannah Reid, is on the plump side and loves to eat. Who isn’t a bit plump these days and who doesn’t love to eat?  She and Dirk, a police detective, have such a strong sexually tense relationship(that has never gone anywhere-because then the they wouldn’t  look at each other the same way ever again) and they can both give as well as they get.

This book dealt with the murder of  a Food star who specialized in chocolat so the story was just yummy.  I truly loved this story and look forward to the next one.