Shacking Up (Shacking Up #1) by Helena Hunting

Book Description:

Published: May 30, 2017

Format: Audio/OverDrive

Ruby Scott is months behind on rent and can’t seem to land a steady job. She has one chance to turn things around with a big audition. But instead of getting her big break, she gets sick as a dog and completely bombs it in the most humiliating fashion. All thanks to a mysterious, gorgeous guy who kissed—and then coughed on—her at a party the night before.

Luckily, her best friend might have found the perfect opportunity; a job staying at the lavish penthouse apartment of hotel magnate Bancroft Mills while he’s out of town, taking care of his exotic pets. But when the newly-evicted Ruby arrives to meet her new employer, it turns out Bane is the same guy who got her sick. Seeing his role in Ruby’s dilemma, Bane offers her a permanent job as his live-in pet sitter until she can get back on her feet.

Review –

WHAT A FUN BOOK!!

I listened to this sexy, light-hearted romance in one sitting and it kept me laughing, swooning, and chuckling the whole way through! The writing was witty and addictive, the characters were compelling and endearing, the romance was hot, and the whole book was a joy to read!

So the story starts when an unexpected – but memorably hot kiss – with a complete stranger at an overly stuffy engagement party led to the flu from hell, the worst audition of Ruby’s life, and thusly no way to pay her rent. At that point, with her options closing, she was sure things couldn’t possibly go more wrong…

But when a second encounter with said same sexy stranger led to a further unexpected offer to babysit his exotic pets (a ferret and a big furry tarantula) while he was away on business for five weeks, it took her life down a path she couldn’t have expected… including the undeniable sexual tension between her and the no-longer-stranger who, despite his flu-related transgressions, was quickly becoming her uncouth white knight. During his trip away they would Face Time every day or night and eat dinner/or whatever meal was appropriate and drink wine or whatever. Sexual innuendoes increased with every passing day.

Both Ruby and Bancroft came from wealthy families, but while she was trying to distance herself from that world and family by making her own way without their help or involvement, he was still involved in his family’s company after retiring(because of an injury-not because he wanted to)from a career of professional rugby. Usually someone within her family’s world wouldn’t appeal to her, but his down to earth attitude towards life drew her in. And the same could be said for how he saw her. She was a breath of fresh air in his life — unprimped, uninterested in money, and not out to impress anyone, all she cared about was standing on her own two feet. His whole life had been filled with women throwing themselves at him but despite his sports star status and being such an eligible bachelor, in his own words, he “didn’t leave a trail of fucked fans across the globe” so I really appreciated that he had every opportunity to be a manwhore, and yet he wasn’t.

Despite being oceans apart for the first part of the book, I was pleasantly surprised that Ruby and Bancroft still shared sizzling chemistry, which of course led to the next big question. What would happen when he got home? Would they take their flirtations to the next level? Or part ways for good? HA! This is a romance so of course they take things to the next level… OMG the hotness!!!!   

Five stars.

If you’re a fan of romantic comedies,(as you know I usually am NOT) then this is definitely a book you’ll want to read or listen to. (The narrators are fantastic) It’s well written, fun, sexy,steamy hot and has a hero and heroine I couldn’t help but fall in love with.

Exit 9 (Project Eden #2) by Brett Battles

Book Description:

Published: December 18, 2011
Before, it was just a test, a little demonstration to see if the virus worked. It did, and so much better than its creators could have ever hoped.

But the testing phase is over. It’s time for Project Eden to take the next step. If its members have their way, humanity is about to get a reboot.

It’s up to Daniel Ash and the others in the outnumbered resistance to keep the Project from severely downsizing mankind. But can their small force succeed in the face of a plan decades in the making?

The human race had better hope so, because if Ash and his friends can’t…

Review –

I read Sick, which is the first in the Project Eden series in 2012 and I loved it so I don’t know why it took me so long to read the follow-up, but with the year drawing to an end I thought this would be  good time to do so.

Exit 9 is a count down clock to the carefully thought out and planned annihilation of 99% of the human population so that the human race can come back as it was meant to be. At least that’s the thought of the directors of the Project Eden group. They plan to release into the air, from established sites all over the world, a bacteria that will cause the Sage Flu and horribly painful deaths will occur in a couple of days. The directors and their family have been vaccinated against it, but I’m wondering if something will happen to mutate the bacteria. I guess I’ll have to read the other books in the series to find out.

There is a lot of cloak and dagger in this story along with human interest so it is a story that everyone can identity with and I highly recommend it.

2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C

530 Brett Battles ecover Exit Nine

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas by Natasha Wing

Book Description:

Published: September 23, 2002

It’s December 23, and Christmas is just around the corner. But one family is having trouble getting its act together. Once again, Natasha Wing follows the rhythms and meter of Clement Moore’s classic Christmas poem, yet gives it her own entirely original twist.
Review –
This is the cutest book that young children will enjoy but adults will love  too.
In the story the it’s the 23rd  of December and Mom has the flu and the tree isn’t up, the cookies are burnt,the stockings have holes so socks are hung up instead. The tree they finally buy makes the Peanuts Christmas Tree the prize winner. It has few branches and fewer needles. The lights burn out so the family has to go shopping for replacements and none can be found so they decide to  wait in line for hours for the kids to see Santa and the baby pees on Santa’s lap. They finally get home and Dad puts Mom to bed and reads the Night Before Christmas to the kids.
A great and fun story.2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C
252745

 

Slow Burn: Zero Day by Bobby Adair

Book Description:

Published: July 24, 2013

 

A new flu strain has been spreading across Africa, Europe, and Asia. Disturbing news footage is flooding the cable news channels. People are worried. People are frightened. But Zed Zane is oblivious. Zed needs to borrow rent money from his parents. He gets up Sunday morning, drinks enough tequila to stifle his pride and heads to his mom’s house for a lunch of begging, again. But something is wrong. There’s blood in the foyer. His mother’s corpse is on the living room floor. Zed’s stepdad, Dan is wild with crazy-eyed violence and attacks Zed when he comes into the house. They struggle into the kitchen. Dan’s yellow teeth tear at Zed’s arm but Zed grabs a knife and stabs Dan, thirty-seven times, or so the police later say. With infection burning in his blood, Zed is arrested for murder but the world is falling apart and he soon finds himself back on the street, fighting for his life among the infected who would kill him and the normal people, who fear him.

Review –

This is another take on the Zombie crave that is so popular right now and a pretty good one. I read this in one sitting and never lost interest.  If you’re into Zombies try this one and let me know what you think.

 

383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

18243819

 

 

The Flu (A Novel of Outbreak) by Jacqueline Druga

Adobe Photoshop PDF

Book Description

Publication Date:November 26, 2013
Throughout history there have been several thousand different strains of influenza. Each year hundreds are active. Chances are, this year, you will catch one of those strains. You will cough, sneeze, and your body will ache. Without a second thought, you’ll take a double dose of green liquid, go to bed, and swear you’ll feel better in the morning.
Not this time.
In 1918 forty million people succumbed to a particular strain of swine flu. It appeared out of nowhere, and just as quickly as it surfaced, the Spanish Flu vanished. Gone for good. Or so we thought. Though mankind has anticipated its resurfacing for some time, mankind is ill prepared. Mutated and with a vengeance, the Spanish Flu returns.
In a world blackened with plague, a glimmer of light exists in the small town of Lodi, Ohio. They shine as a sanctuary because they are ‘flu-free.’ In the wake of the reality that they are spared, the spirit and strength of Lodi is tested. It becomes a fight against what is morally right or wrong in an ncreasingly difficult battle to stay healthy and alive until the flu has run its course.
Review –
Very scary premise because this could completely happen and it would probably be worse that this author tells us. There are graphic descriptions of the bodies at the end of the flu and they are not for the squeamish. There is also a few pages of tear jerker prose and even though it makes a good story the end could have worked out the same without the demise of a main character.
All in all, I enjoyed it very much and read it in one sitting.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

Sick (A Project Eden Thriller ) by Brett Battle

Book Description

Publication Date: April 19, 2011
For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles…
Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She’s had them before. Yet he can’t help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare.
But the nightmare is his. It’s real. And it’s just beginning…
Something is burning Ash’s daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners.
Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn’t the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house.
But these aren’t the good guys.
They haven’t come to save Ash’s family. They’ve come to separate them, to finish what they started.
The problem is Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible.
Because humanity is on the brink of execution.
And man is pulling the trigger.
Review –
This is the second book about the  majority of earth’s population being wiped  by evil forces that I’ve read in the last month or so … that’s scary.
Sick is horrifying in that all of us fear the unknown and the unseen.  Knowing that a virus that causes a painful death is floating around in the air and could be coming your way is paralyzing.  What do you do?  Where do you go?   That is the premise of this book and a faction of the evil doers are the ones that are SUPPOSED to keep you safe and they are NOT doing a very good job.   I loved this story and will definitely be reading the next one.