The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

Book Description

August 1, 2014

“I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she has her dry cleaning done, where she works. I don’t know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she’s scared. But I will.”

Born to a prominent Chicago judge and his stifled socialite wife, Mia Dennett moves against the grain as a young inner-city art teacher. One night, Mia enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn’t show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. With his smooth moves and modest wit, at first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life.

Colin’s job was to abduct Mia as part of a wild extortion plot and deliver her to his employers. But the plan takes an unexpected turn when Colin suddenly decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota, evading the police and his deadly superiors. Mia’s mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them, but no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family’s world to shatter.

An addictively suspenseful and tautly written thriller, The Good Girl is a propulsive debut that reveals how even in the perfect family, nothing is as it seems….

Review –

Everyone has been talking about this book being THE READ OF THE SUMMER and after finishing it, I can see why.  

I had the audio version and there were four narrators, each doing a magnificent job. The story is told in a BEFORE and AFTER period of the kidnapping and in the voices of Eve, James, Colin, Mia and Detective Hoffman which makes it seem as if you are listening to a play. The characters are all multi-faceted and not what they seem on the exterior. The author does a superb job tying everything together and supplying a twist at the end that I didn’t I see coming. 

This book will stay with me for a long time and I hope the gossip is true about it being made into a movie.   Can’t wait!!

I rated this book 5 stars *****

2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C

18812405

 

Rooms by Lauren Oliver

Book Description

September 23, 2014

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

Review –
Two days into the new year and I have read my first five-star rated book. *****
I had the audio version of the book and the narration was done by multiple readers, which made it like listening to a play. The Walkers are a dysfunctional family and are back to bury the father/husband of the family and the two ghosts of the house are not at all mentally balanced and throw in a run-away and a third ghost and you have the makings of a dramatic ending to say the least. I loved it beginning to end and I highly recommend it.
2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C
13579626

Confessions of a Murder Suspect (Confessions #1) by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

Book Description

September 24, 2012
James Patterson returns to the genre that made him famous with a thrilling teen detective series about the mysterious and magnificently wealthy Angel family . . . and the dark secrets they’re keeping from one another.

On the night Malcolm and Maud Angel are murdered, Tandy Angel knows just three things: 1) She was the last person to see her parents alive. 2) The police have no suspects besides Tandy and her three siblings. 3) She can’t trust anyone–maybe not even herself. Having grown up under Malcolm and Maud’s intense perfectionist demands, no child comes away undamaged. Tandy decides that she will have to clear the family name, but digging deeper into her powerful parents’ affairs is a dangerous-and revealing-game. Who knows what the Angels are truly capable of?
Review –
I had the audio version of this book and it’s as if the main character, Tandori Angel, is speaking to you personally. 
Her father, who owns a drug company, and mother, who is not the motherly type, are murdered in their bedroom while their children are sleeping. Of course, the children become suspects as does their older brother, a famous football player. Tandy takes it upon herself to find out who killed her parents and along the way comes across some very distressful news-her parents were using various drugs to make their children smarter,stronger and  unable to feel emotions among other things. 
It’s not a long book but was very easy to listen to and follow the story line.
When I finished it, I immediately looked for the next in the series and started listening to it.
 I love this series.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70
13521399

 

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Book Description:

Published: May 13, 2014

 

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

 

Review –

I really didn’t know how to feel about this book when I first started listening to it, but it was only five discs long so what did I have to lose?

It involves a private island, three sisters of a demanding, dominating father and three cousins, all rich and one boy who is not but is allowed to come to the island also during the summer months. They have good time and bad times and times that Cadence, the protagonist,  can’t remember because of the severe migraine headaches she suffers as the result of an accident the summer of her 15th year. After the accident she isn’t allowed to go back to the island because of her fragile condition and headaches. She sends emails to her two cousins which are never answered and wonders why Gat, the boy she loves from New York hasn’t been to see her.  Finally she is there on the island  again at the age of seventeen enjoying  their company and having her aunts, Grandfather and other cousins tip toeing around her. Why, she wonders?

The story deals with teen angst, issues of class and race and mostly on the dysfunctional family that she is a part of and has such a profound effect on her and her missing memories.

The ending was one that I did not see coming and made me cry. I had to pull over (I was listening to this in my car while running errands) until I could get a grip. This is another book that will haunt me for a very long time.

I rated this book 5 stars *****

383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

16143347

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Product Description:

Published: September 26, 2006

Fresh from a brief stay at a psych hospital, reporter Camille Preaker faces a troubling assignment: she must return to her tiny hometown to cover the murders of two preteen girls. For years, Camille has hardly spoken to her neurotic, hypochondriac mother or to the half-sister she barely knows: a beautiful thirteen-year-old with an eerie grip on the town. Now, installed in her old bedroom in her family’s Victorian mansion, Camille finds herself identifying with the young victims—a bit too strongly. Dogged by her own demons, she must unravel the psychological puzzle of her own past if she wants to get the story—and survive this homecoming.

Review –

I usually wait a week or two to write my review of a book because I just get so far behind as a whole, but after finishing Sharp Objects I had to get my thoughts down on paper, or screen, whatever.

When you first meet Camille you know nothing of her troubled childhood or dysfunctional family but you realize she has problems of her own. She’s a cutter and is now in remission, if there is such a thing, but her entire body, except for a circle on her back, is covered with words. Camille cut words, She also drinks to excess and as we find out later doesn’t mind taking a few drugs.

Her mother appears to be a goody-goody prim and proper Southern lady, but that is only on the outside. She is totally screwed up because of her mother and carries it to extremes. I will not give away what exactly-you will have to read the book. Suffice it to say, that she is a nut.

Camille’s step-father is a mealy mouth Southern gentleman who seems oblivious to what’s going on around him.

Camille’s step-sister is  an advertisement for the BAD SEED.  Most of you, if not all, are probably too young to have heard of that movie but it’s about a little girl who is mean and bullying to the point of murder, while making adults think she is a sweet innocent girl.

This cast of characters plus others make up the story and the outcome is sort of surprise, but I did  have an idea of who the guilty party was before it was told to the reader but the ending WAS a surprise and I felt a sadness. I had hoped for better for Camille and that’s all I’m going to say.

I rated this book 5 stars *****

Gillian Flynn also wrote Gone Girl which ia about to be released as a motion picture. It wouldn’t surprise me if down the line Sharp Objects is made into one too.

383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

1343439