When Ashes Fall by Marnie Mann

Book Description:

Published: January 15, 2019

Format: Audio/Audible

It’s been said that you can’t love two men at the same time.
You can’t split your heart, soul, and body in half.
But I’m here to tell you, you can.
Dylan Cole is like ice, sharp and unpredictable, the thunder inside a tumultuous storm.
Smith Reid is warmth, soft and gentle, perfect like a sunny day.
Both are mine.
But I can have only one.
There are two sides to this tale.
I’m here to tell you mine.
If you think this story is about a cheater, you couldn’t be more wrong.

Review –

In a few words… this book was breathtakingly beautiful. A look at life in the most devastating of times but also in the beautiful. The sun-filled days, the soul mate love, the love that helps you to move past the pain and live again. I was captivated, I was emotional, and my heart broke for the heartache and devastation but was built up again by the strong friendship and love between two best friends, the eternal love of one man, and the new love from the man who would one day help Alix heal.

I’m so excited to be introduced to a new author who I look forward to reading more from. In these days where it’s so hard to find good stories, Marni Mann has written something unique and exceptional and unforgettable that I will think about it for days.

I know I’m not saying much, but go in blind, read it, trust that you will get an amazing story you will fall in love with because When Ashes Fall is pure romance, it’s healing, and it will leave on mark on your soul forever. 

Fantastic read but you will need a box of Kleenex!

One Second After (After #1) by William R. Forstchen

Book Description:

Published: March 17, 2009

Format: Audio/OverDrive

New York Times best-selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real … a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages … A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future … and our end.

Review –

This book is too scary NOT to read. The whole time I was listening I expected the lights to go out, my computer to shut down and everything to go completely quiet. 

Our country, or any country, for that matter, is not prepared for an EMP strike. We are all too complacent to think it can happen at all, much less to us.

Reading/listening to this book made it very real and it scared me to death.

Everyone should read this book!

Five stars.

The Hospital by Keith C. Blackmore

Book Description:

Published: March 2014

Mountain Man” Augustus Berry is a survivor in undead suburbia. He scavenges what he can from what’s left over. He is very careful in what he does and where he goes, taking no chances, no unnecessary risks, and weighing every choice… until he decides to visit the hospital at the edge of town, and experiences terror the likes he’s never encountered before.

Review –

This was offered as a free audio short story (9500 words) and I thought it was very well done. That being said, no one, not even Augustus Berry, could have survived all that he suffered at the hands of  a crazy nurse and zombie babies. Very far-fetched but it made for good fiction. 

This is the first in the Mountain Man series but I don’t know if I will read the others or not.

The first story of the “Mountain Man” series. Contains language and very graphic violence. 

383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

16123747