Mine by Brett Battles

Book Description:

Published: July 19, 2016

Format: Audio/Audible

Something happened that night in the woods at Camp Red Hawk. But all Joel and Leah can recall is sneaking out for a late hike with five camp friends, and that only the two of them and their friend Mike returned.

They have no memory of what happened to the others. No memory of anything after leaving the camp.

In the years that follow, they realize something has changed inside of them. They are different from others, in ways they never should be. In ways that send their lives down disturbing and terrifying paths.

As they grapple with adulthood, their only hope for understanding why they’ve been altered lies with them finding each other again. But how is that possible when their memories of one another have been erased?

Review –

I am a fan of Brett Battles and will be listening to books three and four in the  Project Eden series very soon. This series is a blend of thriller, horror and crime drama, and that’s what I’m used to when I think of Brett Battles. Mine is none of those things. Instead it’s a sci-fi meets coming of age. It’s a common enough story about how aliens plan to take over the earth and eliminate the humans but this has the addition of the bond of friendship. Without the friendship the three survivors had between them, none of them would have come out alive.

The only thing that disappointed me was the ending.  There was an epilogue and it was very very predictable. I wish the author would have made it a cliffhanger.

All in all, it was a great listen.

 

Exit 9 (Project Eden #2) by Brett Battles

Book Description:

Published: December 18, 2011
Before, it was just a test, a little demonstration to see if the virus worked. It did, and so much better than its creators could have ever hoped.

But the testing phase is over. It’s time for Project Eden to take the next step. If its members have their way, humanity is about to get a reboot.

It’s up to Daniel Ash and the others in the outnumbered resistance to keep the Project from severely downsizing mankind. But can their small force succeed in the face of a plan decades in the making?

The human race had better hope so, because if Ash and his friends can’t…

Review –

I read Sick, which is the first in the Project Eden series in 2012 and I loved it so I don’t know why it took me so long to read the follow-up, but with the year drawing to an end I thought this would be  good time to do so.

Exit 9 is a count down clock to the carefully thought out and planned annihilation of 99% of the human population so that the human race can come back as it was meant to be. At least that’s the thought of the directors of the Project Eden group. They plan to release into the air, from established sites all over the world, a bacteria that will cause the Sage Flu and horribly painful deaths will occur in a couple of days. The directors and their family have been vaccinated against it, but I’m wondering if something will happen to mutate the bacteria. I guess I’ll have to read the other books in the series to find out.

There is a lot of cloak and dagger in this story along with human interest so it is a story that everyone can identity with and I highly recommend it.

2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C

530 Brett Battles ecover Exit Nine

Sick (A Project Eden Thriller ) by Brett Battle

Book Description

Publication Date: April 19, 2011
For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles…
Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She’s had them before. Yet he can’t help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare.
But the nightmare is his. It’s real. And it’s just beginning…
Something is burning Ash’s daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners.
Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn’t the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house.
But these aren’t the good guys.
They haven’t come to save Ash’s family. They’ve come to separate them, to finish what they started.
The problem is Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible.
Because humanity is on the brink of execution.
And man is pulling the trigger.
Review –
This is the second book about the  majority of earth’s population being wiped  by evil forces that I’ve read in the last month or so … that’s scary.
Sick is horrifying in that all of us fear the unknown and the unseen.  Knowing that a virus that causes a painful death is floating around in the air and could be coming your way is paralyzing.  What do you do?  Where do you go?   That is the premise of this book and a faction of the evil doers are the ones that are SUPPOSED to keep you safe and they are NOT doing a very good job.   I loved this story and will definitely be reading the next one.