Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity Mysteries #2)by Nancy Atherton


Book Description

Release date: November 1, 1995
| Series: Aunt Dimity Mystery
Emma Porter is forty, fat, frumpy, and a passionate amateur gardener. When her longtime lover dumps her for a younger woman, Emma escapes the cloying sympathy of family and friends by setting out on a summer-long driving tour of England’s glorious gardens. A Dimity-contrived coincidence brings her to Penford Hall, a sprawling Gothic mansion in Cornwall, where she finds a duke in search of a missing lantern with extraordinary powers. Suspecting there’s more than one mystery to be solved at Penford Hall, Emma accepts the duke’s invitation to stay on and restore the once glorious chapel garden to its former beauty. The dark rumors surrounding a rock star and the near-death of the duke’s beautiful cousin confirm Emma’s suspicions, and set her–with Aunt Dimity’s ghostly guidance–on the path to Penford Hall’s secrets and the pleasure of unexpected love.
Review –
I am so glad I found this series.  It is delightful,enchanting and a joy to read.

Aunt Dimity’s Death by Nancy Atherton


Book Description

Release date: November 1, 1993 | Series: Aunt Dimity Mystery
…Until the Dickensian law firm of Willis & Willis summons her to a reading of the woman’s will. Down-on-her-luck Lori learns she’s about to inherit a sizable estate–if she can discover the secret hidden in a treasure trove of letters in Dimity’s English country cottage. What begins as a fairy tale becomes a mystery–and a ghost story–in an improbably cozy setting, as Aunt Dimity’s indomitable spirit leads Lori on an otherworldly quest to discover how, in this life, true love can conquer all.
Review –
While in the public library looking for a book to read, I came across this new series, Aunt Dimity Mysteries, by Nancy Atherton and decided to pick one up. I brought it home, began reading it that night and finished it the next morning, went back to the library and checked out three more.
It is a charming series with no murders, no sex and no bad languarg.You  just don’t find that combination much anything and it’s very refreshing.
The series deals with a ghost or spirit that writes in a blue journal,a pink stuffed bunny that seems to have magical powers  and delightful characters.
 I am so glad I ran across this series of books.