Dreams of Gods and Monsters(Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)by Laini Taylor

Book Description:

Published: April 8, 2014

By way of a staggering deception, Karou has taken control of the chimaera rebellion and is intent on steering its course away from dead-end vengeance. The future rests on her, if there can even be a future for the chimaera in war-ravaged Eretz.

Common enemy, common cause.

When Jael’s brutal seraph army trespasses into the human world, the unthinkable becomes essential, and Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat. It is a twisted version of their long-ago dream, and they begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people.

And, perhaps, for themselves. Toward a new way of living, and maybe even love.

But there are bigger threats than Jael in the offing. A vicious queen is hunting Akiva, and, in the skies of Eretz … something is happening. Massive stains are spreading like bruises from horizon to horizon; the great winged stormhunters are gathering as if summoned, ceaselessly circling, and a deep sense of wrong pervades the world.

What power can bruise the sky?

From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy.

At the very barriers of space and time, what do gods and monsters dream of? And does anything else matter?

Review –

It had been  two years since I read the second in the Smoke & Bone Series, Days of Blood and Starlight, so it took me 6 hours (I had the audio version) to really get back into who was who and what was going on, but after that I was totally invested. This series has everything-humans, angles, chimaera,love, hate,war and peace. It is a complex story but well worth the read.  



The Soulkeepers, Weaving Destiny and Return to Eden by G.P. Ching (The Soulkeepers Series)

Book Description

Publication Date: June 24, 2011 | Series: The Soulkeepers
When fifteen-year-old Jacob Lau is pulled from the crumpled remains of his mother’s car, no one can explain why he was driving or why the police can’t find his mother’s body. Made a ward of his uncle and thousands of miles from home, a beautiful and mysterious neighbor, Dr. Abigail Silva, offers to use her unique abilities to help him find his mom. In exchange, she requires Jacob to train as a Soulkeeper, a gifted warrior charged with protecting human souls. He agrees to her demands, desperate for any clue to the mystery of his mother’s disappearance. But soon Jacob finds himself trapped in a web of half-truths, and questions Dr. Silva’s motives for helping him.

Book Description

Publication Date: August 29, 2011 | Series: Soulkeepers
Book 2 in The Soulkeepers Series Malini Gupta thought Jacob Lau was her destiny. But after months of failing to decipher how she fits into the Soulkeepers, frustration threatens to tear their relationship apart. And it doesn’t help that a new Soulkeeper named Mara is ready to stop time itself to earn Jacob’s love. When Malini faces her worst fears, and even death, she learns a funny thing about destiny. Fate is a tapestry of choices, and she has the power to weave hers.

Book Description

Publication Date: March 2, 2012 | Series: The Soulkeepers
Book 3 in The Soulkeepers Series. Dr. Abigail Silva has waited over 10,000 years for redemption and a chance at a real relationship with the angel she loves. But when you’re made from evil itself, it’s hard to remember if salvation is worth the wait. With Lucifer’s plan coming to fruition, she must decide if God’s offer of humanity is all it’s cracked up to be, or if a deal with the devil is the more promising solution.
Review –
Since I read these three books in The Soulkeepers Series almost back to back I thought I would present them this way and forgive me but it’s been awhile since I’ve finished them (I’m way behind in my reviews) so this will be short and sweet. 
The first book was offered free for my Kindle and it was a very fast read and I loved it so much that I paid for the next two in the series.  Although the books are written for young adults anyone  liking paranormal fantasy mixed with good vs evil with a bit of romance thrown in for good measure will love this series.   Give them a try.