Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel

Book Description:

Published: April 26, 2016

Format: Audio/Audible

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

Review –

This book has been on my TBR list ever since it was released but I just never seemed  to find the right frame of mind to read it or listen to it. But Friday afternoon I decided to listen to it and once I started I found it almost impossible to stop.

I’ve always been a fan of Sci-Fi, not the fantasy type but the alien monsters type, so this book hit my mark right away.

The author had a way with describing to the reader exactly how the pieces of the “Giant” looked and felt. I could see it plainly in my mind’s eye and I loved the use of interviews and journals to see into the minds of the characters.

There is a lot of covert actions and hide and seek with the “Giant” and it was fun to wonder what would happen next. At one point the “Giant” ALMOST walked across the border into North Korea (oh yes, it can walk) and started another World War. The author has an amazing imagination.

I was very surprised when one of the main characters was killed off but I figured she/he  had fulfilled their  part of the plot but at the end there is a GIANT cliffhanger and low and behold the character is back missing four years of her life.

Overdrive didn’t offer the second book, Waking Gods, in audio-so I used one of my Audible credits to buy it and will part it as soon as I post this to my blog.   Can’t wait.

Five stars!!!!

 

Advertisements

Mine by Brett Battles

Book Description:

Published: July 19, 2016

Format: Audio/Audible

Something happened that night in the woods at Camp Red Hawk. But all Joel and Leah can recall is sneaking out for a late hike with five camp friends, and that only the two of them and their friend Mike returned.

They have no memory of what happened to the others. No memory of anything after leaving the camp.

In the years that follow, they realize something has changed inside of them. They are different from others, in ways they never should be. In ways that send their lives down disturbing and terrifying paths.

As they grapple with adulthood, their only hope for understanding why they’ve been altered lies with them finding each other again. But how is that possible when their memories of one another have been erased?

Review –

I am a fan of Brett Battles and will be listening to books three and four in the  Project Eden series very soon. This series is a blend of thriller, horror and crime drama, and that’s what I’m used to when I think of Brett Battles. Mine is none of those things. Instead it’s a sci-fi meets coming of age. It’s a common enough story about how aliens plan to take over the earth and eliminate the humans but this has the addition of the bond of friendship. Without the friendship the three survivors had between them, none of them would have come out alive.

The only thing that disappointed me was the ending.  There was an epilogue and it was very very predictable. I wish the author would have made it a cliffhanger.

All in all, it was a great listen.

 

The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey

Book Description:

Published: May 24, 2016  

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Review –

Five-star-feedback-on-oDesk

offers-headphones-jpgmaxheight138maxwidth207THE LAST STAR picks up not long after THE INFINITE SEA, Book Two, left off. Cassie, still torn between her love of Evan and her fear of his kind, is focusing her energy on reminding Sam what it means to be a family. Ringer — believed MIA by Cassie and the gang — has been “enhanced” and is focused on eliminating Evan Walker so she can take revenge on the man who betrayed her without him getting in the way. Zombie, ever the leader, remains untrusting of Evan and focused on reuniting with Ringer and Teacup before the end of days. 
Alternating between the viewpoints of Cassie, Ringer, Zombie, Sam and others, THE LAST STAR takes place over the course of three action-packed days, or, more specifically, the last three days of Earth. Evan Walker has a plan that he hopes will save humanity — aka Cassie — but, in the end, he is not the hero Earth needs. That hero, of course, is Cassie. Cassie who, even when all hope for rescue is lost, still demands that young Sam learn his ABCs and remember the face of his mother. Cassie, who loves Evan in ways that even she cannot understand, but knows that they will not celebrate a fairy tale ending. Cassie, the personification of humanity.

Although readers have been cheering Cassie on for years, I believe it is Sam who truly shines in THE LAST STAR. If THE LAST STAR can be classified as character-driven science fiction, Sam is one of the most powerful forces of its narrative. Through Sam, we see the true effects of humanity’s downfall, as he finds it easy to shoot a person, but less so to remember to bathe. He loves his sister, but feels a stronger, everlasting bond with Zombie, because Zombie is his sergeant in a world where his family’s promises have been annihilated more often than not. 

Because the story takes place over only three short days, it is impossible to go on without spoiling the ending to a series fans have loved for years. I will say this: yes, there are major deaths, yes, there is a resolution to the war, and yes, you will cry. The author did a superb job giving this series a perfect ending.

Five stars *****

C758484C9C9106E2B09FB2547B1149C8

16131489

The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave #2) by Rick Yancey

Book Description

September 16, 2014

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Review  –
This is the second in the 5th Wave Series and I almost read it in one sitting and I thought it was a bit short but maybe that’s because I read it so fast. It takes place over two days with flashbacks thrown in and reveals a couple of startling things near the end. I can’t wait for the next one. I gave it 5 stars *****.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70
16131484

The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave #1) by Rick Yancey

Book Description:

Published: May 7, 2013

 

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Review –

OMG!!

The book was captivating right from the start and held my interest to the end and it only took me a few hours to read. Cassie is a strong female character, which YA literature needs more of, and she is devoted to finding her brother. The story is action packed, fast paced and the characters have great chemistry together(Cassie and Evan). I can’t wait to read the second in the series.  

I rated this book 5 stars *****

383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

16101128