Snowflakes (Hush Series) by Ruth Ware

Book Description:

Published: July 30, 2020

Format: Audio/Audible

Stars: 3

When a barrier between truth and illusion grows stronger, a family’s trust crumbles in this arresting short story by the number one New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin 10.

Leah has spent her formative years isolated on a remote island with her family. But their quiet existence, far from the devastated mainland, is cracking. Father, sensing a coming threat, demands that a wall be built. As the stone blockade rises, Father’s paranoia escalates. So does Leah’s dread that the violence the family left behind has found its way to their sanctuary.

Ruth Ware’s Snowflakes is part of Hush, a collection of six stories, ranging from political mysteries to psychological thrillers, in which deception can be a matter of life and death. Each piece can be read or listened to in one truly chilling sitting.

Review –

The synopsis didn’t give away much but I was expecting some psychological suspense/mystery. Instead I got some kind of dystopian tale (at least at first) so far from everything I’ve read from this author I’m not sure I liked it much. The plot was pretty far fetched and the characters were not very well fleshed out, although this, being only 57 minutes long in audio, I guess I shouldn’t have expected very much. I hope the rest of the stories in the Hush Series are better!




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s