Delta of Venus by Anais Nin

Book Description:

Published: January 1, 1977

Delta of Venus is a book of fifteen short stories by Anaïs Nin published posthumously in 1977 — though largely written in the 1940s as erotica for a private collector.

In “Delta of Venus”, Anais Nin conjures up a glittering cascade of sexual encounters. Creating her own ‘language of the senses’, she explores an area that was previously the domain of male writers and brings to it her own unique perceptions. Her vibrant and impassioned prose evokes the essence of female sexuality in a world where only love has meaning. Her second volume of erotic writings, “Little Birds”, is also published by Penguin.

Within Delta of Venus, Nin explores what constitutes masculinity, patriarchal dominance, homosexual desire, sexual restraint, pedophilia, and incest.

The short stories are as follows:

1. The Hungarian Adventurer / 2. Mathilde / 3. The Boarding School / 4. The Ring / 5. Mallorca / 6. Artists and Models / 7. Lilith / 8. Marianne / 9. The Veiled Woman / 10. Elena / 11. The Basque and Bijou / 12. Pierre / 13. Manuel / 14. Linda / 15. Marcel

Review –

I maybe the only one, but I didn’t like any part of this book and I felt it was a waste of my time but I always finish a book so I was stuck with it. Others may think it’s the greatest book of erotica ever written. If you decide to read it let me know your opinion.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s