Skipping Christmas by John Grisham

Book Description:

Published: November 6, 2001

Imagine a year without Christmas. No crowded malls, no corny office parties, no fruitcakes, no unwanted presents. That’s just what Luther and Nora Krank have in mind when they decide that, just this once, they’ll skip the holiday altogether. Theirs will be the only house on Hemlock Street without a rooftop Frosty; they won’t be hosting their annual Christmas Eve bash; they aren’t even going to have a tree. They won’t need one, because come December 25 they’re setting sail on a Caribbean cruise. But, as this weary couple is about to discover, skipping Christmas brings enormous consequences–and isn’t half as easy as they’d imagined.

A classic tale for modern times, Skipping Christmas offers a hilarious look at the chaos and frenzy that have become part of our holiday tradition.

Review –

Five-star-feedback-on-oDesk

I  listen to this book every year and every year the idea of skipping Christmas sounds better and better.  I’m already to the point of not putting up the Christmas tree every year. It’s just me and my hubby, only one adult children and her husband,  no grand-children, so why go to the trouble, I ask you. Some years I HAVE to have it all, the tree, all the decorations, the music, the cards and of course the baking and other years I don’t care if I do any thing at all.

This year my tree was up before Thanksgiving, Christmas carols playing while I baked Christmas cookies etc.  At times I just sit in the living room and just stare at the tree, looking at all my old ornaments and remembering where they came from or who gave them to me. It’s wonderful and brings me peace.

Back to the book:

I’m sure many of you have seen the movie that is made based on the book, Christmas With The Kranks,but I just saw it for the first time night before last. It was okay, but the book is so much better. Parts of the movie look like slap-stick and other parts are just plain stupid. The book is humorous and the narration is perfect. I love it and that’s why I listen to it every year.

2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C

87957

Leave a Reply

