Crash by Drew Jordan

Book Description:

Published: October 31, 2015

This is a dark, erotic thriller intended for mature audiences. Not a traditional romance, but a love story with a twist, this is book one in a three part series.

The greatest love stories begin with blood…

There is blood. There is pain. And there is him. These are the first things I register when I wake up, the lone survivor in an Alaskan plane crash. He carries me to safety over rough terrain and brings me to his cabin in the woods. He has no name. Or none he will tell me.

As snow creeps across the harsh and isolated landscape, he is my only company. My protector, my caretaker. A fascinating enigma, with mysterious eyes, gentle hands, and a rough voice that demands more from me than I ever expected to give. I make up different stories, different names for him depending on his mood, because I know nothing about him except that he is my only connection to the real world I want to return to. So I work to please him, plotting my escape, yet all the while I start to crave him and every touch of his dominating body.

He has saved me from the cold. From death. But in taking me and my body, will he destroy me?

Review –

Part one of this book was offered free but the ending left me hanging so I HAD to buy the full book to find out what happened and it was money well spent.

There is a plane crash in remote Alaska and Laney is the sole survivor and saved by a rugged mountain man, whose name we never learn. I’m still uncertain if the pilot was too injured to save or the “no name” just left him there to die and saved the pretty girl.  I think he let him die.

He takes Laney to his cabin, which is just a bare bones building, nothing fancy. At first he appears to be a good guy that was in the right place at the right time to save her but as the days go by we discover that maybe that’s not the case and he wants only one thing from her-sexual gratification. Laney ponders this too and is afraid of him but realizes he DID save her so why would he want to hurt her now. He won’t tell her his name or how long he’s been there or why he’s there. Once when he’s out hunting she discovered a newspaper clipping about a dead girl and we later surmise that “no more” might have drown her, but that’s not made clear.

He tells Laney that she must obey him in every regard and if she doesn’t she will be punished and he keeps his word-once by making her stay outside in the freezing cold to fend for herself because she tried to leave.  But on the flip side, he can be gentle and makes love to her and other times he likes to tie her wrists to the headboard with rough rope, somethings ties her wrists behind her back or over a ceiling beam. He likes rope! He uses gentle threats to make her obey and she does. “No name” tells her that he loves her and will take care of her and never wants her to leave.

After building trust between them he lets her go into town with him for supplies and who should they run into but an old friend, Michael, that she had been planning to meet up with. Michael is shocked to see her because everything thought she had wandered away from the plane and died and been eaten by carrion.  He wants to take her back to Seattle with him so a doctor can check her out, but “no name” suggests Michael come back to the cabin with them and get an early start the next day.  At that point bells are going off in my head and I’m saying, DON’T GO-CAN’T YOU SEE IT’S A TRAP!, but Michael goes back with them and he and “no name” have a frank discussion about Laney, in which he tells him that she’s has a very disturbing past. Her step-father sexually abused her to the point of getting her pregnant at the age of sixteen. He’s in prison now but she still loves him(no one knows this)She doe not have custody of her daughter now and her mother, Victoria, is a mess and on top of everything else, Michael says Laney gets easily attached to any man who is kind to her. “No name” asks Michael what his plans are for Laney and he says he plans to marry her.

Laney overhears their conversation and wants to go back with Michael and at the same time doesn’t. She wants “no name” to ask her to stay but know that he won’t because he wants her to stay on her own.

The time comes for them to leave and Michael sees the cuts and bruises on her body and says he is going to call the police and tell them all about the way her “rescuer” has treated her. Laney knows cell phones don’t work in the remote woods where the cabin is located but know that it will once they reach town. What she does next left me with my mouth hanging open. I won’t say what it was but I can’t wait for book two to find out what happens next.  Great twist and totally unexpected.

Adult.

2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C

27412628

Leave a Reply

