Bait (Wake #1) by M. Mabie

Book Description:

Published: October 13, 2014

He was trouble from the start, but I couldn’t resist.
She was the best kind of trouble. The kind that was so wrong, it felt right.

I’ve tried and failed to stay away from him.
I’ve done everything in my power to make her mine and keep her.

He’s almost impossible to say no to.
She never tells me yes.

We’re always fighting.
When we’re not fighting, we’re… well… making up.

He makes me laugh so hard.
I miss her laugh the most.

I’m a liar.
She knows the truth, but won’t admit it.

Sometimes, I wish I’d never met him.
I wish we could meet all over again. I’d do better.

His girlfriend knows.
The guy she’s with is a fool.

I’ll never love anyone like I love him.
She doesn’t love me enough to choose us.

It was the wrong place.
It was the wrong time.

It should have been him.
It will always be her.

This book contains adult situations and is recommended for adult readers. 

Review –

This was offered as a free book and I didn’t think I’d like it but the more I read the more I had to keep flipping pages, or whatever you do on a e-reader.

It’s a boy meets girl/girl meet boy at a bar and then has a one night stand kind of story, but it doesn’t end there. 

The girl, Blake, has a boyfriend(who later becomes her fiancée and husband) but  feels a pull toward Casey, the brother and twin of the boy who is dating her  best friend. Casey is at the bar having a few drinks before going to break up with his girl-friend.

Of course, the one-night stand is earth movingly good and they decide to keep in touch by texting and of course this leads to many many hook-ups over the course of almost two years. They can’t get enough of each other, but Blake doesn’t think that Casey wants what she wants and Casey is so jealous of her boyfriend he can’t see straight.

Blake eventually married Grant (a robot like man) who comes make her come unless she asks him to call her “Betty”, the nickname given to her my Casey.  They marry on the exact date of the first anniversary of her one night stand with Casey, in May and on New Year’s Eve it comes to a head and her husband finds out about Casey. 

Blake tells Casey that she has to go back to him to finish it(get a divorce) and then she can finally come to him and stay.  End.

BLAKE GOT ON MY LAST NERVE. She thought about Casey 24/7 and “loved” Grant but wasn’t in love with him.  I wanted to shake her. How could she not see what Casey was offering her as opposed to the mundane, hum-drum life  of being married to Grant?

I’ve already purchased the next in the series(Over-priced-but I had to see how things turn out-right?)

2FED61D33FBEDE862055F09805BBCB8C

21856789

 

Leave a Reply

