Taboo by Casey Hill

Book Description

January 27, 2011
Introducing CSI Reilly Steel…
The first forensic thriller in a police procedural crime fiction mystery series for fans of Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs and Karin Slaughter, or TV shows CSI and Criminal Minds.

Forensic investigator Reilly Steel, Quantico-trained and California-born and bred, imagined Dublin to be a far cry from bustling San Francisco, a sleepy backwater where she can lay past ghosts to rest and start anew.
She’s arrived in Ireland to drag the Garda forensics team into the 21st-century plus keep tabs on her Irish-born father who’s increasingly seeking solace in the bottle after a past tragedy.
But a brutal serial killer soon puts paid to that. A young man and woman are found dead in a hotel room, the gunshot wounds on their naked bodies suggesting a suicide pact. But as Reilly and the team dig deeper and more bodies are discovered, they soon realize that a twisted murderer is at work, one who seeks to upset society’s norms in the most sickening way imaginable…

Review –
This is a great ” who done it” for any murder mystery fan. I’m looking forward to reading more of this series.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70
1045529222141703

Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama

Book Description

September 4, 2012
Fierce, seductive mermaid Syrenka falls in love with Ezra, a young naturalist. When she abandons her life underwater for a chance at happiness on land, she is unaware that this decision comes with horrific and deadly consequences. Almost one hundred forty years later, seventeen-year-old Hester meets a mysterious stranger named Ezra and feels overwhelmingly, inexplicably drawn to him. For generations, love has resulted in death for the women in her family. Is it an undiagnosed genetic defect . . . or a curse? With Ezra’s help, Hester investigates her family’s strange, sad history. The answers she seeks are waiting in the graveyard, the crypt, and at the bottom of the ocean – but powerful forces will do anything to keep her from uncovering her connection to Syrenka and to the tragedy of so long ago.
Review –
This is a wonderful story that is really two stories in one. One about mermaids and the other about ghosts and combines them flawlessly.  The story is also told in flashbacks so we learn the back story of some of the ghosts and the main mermaid. It also tells of a curse and of folklore of sea creatures. The mermaid depicted in Monstrous Beauty are not the “little mermaid” type but instead dark, driven, fierce and deadly.
Saying all that, it was a beautiful story of love and loss and I recommend  it to those who enjoy books about mermaids and those who never thought of reading a book about mermaids.

 383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70

129716621462255417286880