If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Book Description

March 24, 2009
In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family.
From GoodReads:
Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.

Review –
I read this book because the movie came out and I wanted to compare the two, even though the books are always better. Anyway, I was very disappointed and let down. It was, at least to me, a run of the mill sad story of a girl in a coma and her boyfriends asking her not to die. I cry at the drop of a hat and I didn’t shed one tear-what does that tell you?  I decided not to see the movie and wait til it comes out on Net Flix or Amazon Instant Video.
383D1D93C88C19F164B5F1B27B6F4B70
6990472
Leave a Reply

